Alcohol Laws
RESOURCE PAGE




 

 

Alcohol Laws in the news

7 out of 10 would back new laws to tackle alcohol abuse 

The Scotsman - Jan 01 4:18 PM
NEARLY three-quarters of Scots would welcome the introduction of new laws to tackle the nation's problematic relationship with alcohol, according to a poll.
British 24-hour alcohol laws fail to deter binge drinking 
NorthJersey.com - Jan 01 12:54 AM
LONDON -- New 24-hour alcohol licensing laws have failed to help Britons adopt a more relaxed attitude toward drinking, a Cabinet minister said, according to a Sunday newspaper.

24-hour licensing laws may not help Britain's alcohol culture 
Houston Chronicle - Dec 31 2:41 PM
According to Britain's Sunday Times, a British government official said that the country's new 24-hour alcohol liscensing laws have failed to help Britons develop a more relaxed attitude toward consuming alcohol.

New Laws Go Into Effect On New Year's Day 
ABC 7 Denver - Jan 01 6:04 AM
DENVER -- Starting Monday, the definition of a persistent drunk driver just got a little tighter in Colorado. Several new state laws take effect Monday, including one that lowers the blood alcohol level definition for persistent drunk drivers from 0.2 percent to 0.17 percent.

- Acohol Laws

Here is an article on Alcohol Laws.

This list of alcohol laws of the United States Acohol Laws by state provides an Alochol Laws overview of alcohol-related laws by state throughout the United States. This list is not intended to provide a breakdown of Alchool Laws such laws by local jurisdiction within a state; see that state's Alcool Laws alcohol laws page for more detailed information.

As of 2006 all states have a minimum purchase age Alohol Laws of 21. Unlike the states, Puerto Rico, the Alcohl Laws US Virgin Islands, and Guam have a minimum purchase Alcoho Laws age of 18.

Entries marked with a * have additional Aclohol Laws information in the Notes column for that state.

State Alcohol beverage control state Alcohol sale hours Notes
Beer Wine Distilled spirits On-premises Off-premises
Alabama No No* Yes no later Alcphol Laws than 2 a.m. on Sundays* 6% ABV cap on Alcohil Laws beer
Beer containers may not exceed 16 ounces
ABV Alcoholl Laws > 14.9% wine sold in state stores
Alcohol may be Alcoohl Laws served 24 hours unless restricted by local ordinances
Alaska No 8 a.m. – 5 a.m. Off-premises sales only allowed in liquor Allcohol Laws stores.
Arizona No 6 a.m. – 2 a.m.* No alcohol sales before 10 a.m. on Sundays
Arkansas No 7 a.m. – 2 a.m. (Class A Private Club)*
10 a.m. – 5 a.m. (Class B Private Club)*
7 a.m. – 1 a.m. (Restaurant)*
7 a.m. – 1 a.m. (Mon.-Fri.)*
7 a.m. – midnight (Sat.)*
Has numerous dry counties and other "dry" areas, but private clubs can serve even in dry areas.
Alcohol sales are generally prohibited on Sundays, but exceptions can be made through local option (usually for restaurants and private clubs).
No sales on Christmas Day.
California No 6 a.m. – 2 a.m. Local and/or County ordinance prevails for hours of operation for both on and off sale licenses.
Colorado No 7 a.m. – 2 a.m. 8 a.m. – midnight (Mon.-Sat.)* Spirituous, vinous & malt liquor available in liquor stores only.
Liquor stores closed on Sundays & Christmas Day.
Off-premises sales of 3.2% ABW fermented malt beverages allowed on Sundays.
Connecticut No 9 a.m. – 1 a.m. (Mon.-Thur.)*
9 a.m. – 2 a.m. (Fri.-Sat.)*
8 a.m. – 9 p.m. (Mon.-Sat.)* No off-premises sales on Sundays; Sunday on-premises sales subject to local ordinances. No holiday sales.
Delaware No 9 a.m. – 1 a.m. 9 a.m. – 1 a.m. (Mon.-Sat.)
noon – 8 p.m. (Sun.)
Alcohol may only be purchased in liquor stores
Florida No Sale, possession, or consumption of any liquor or spirit of greater than 153 proof is illegal. (FSS 565.07)

No alcohol sale before 12 p.m. on Sundays. State default law prohibits selling of alcohol between 1 a.m. and 7 a.m., unless the county chooses to change the operating hours later. Miami-Dade County liquor stores may operate 24 hours a day. Hillsbrough county no sales 3am to 7 am and on sunday no sales before 11 am

Georgia No 14% ABV cap on beer
No Sunday off-premises sales
Hawaii No 11:50 a.m. to 6:00 a.m. 2:00 a.m unless cabaret license is present, then 4:00 a.m.
Idaho No Yes 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m.
Illinois No
Indiana No 7 a.m. - 3 a.m. Mon-Sat
10:30 a.m. to 12:30 a.m. Sun (on-premises only)
7 a.m. - 3 a.m. Mon-Sat Sales limited to on-premises in restaurants on Sundays

No sales on Christmas or Election Days

Iowa No Yes 6 a.m. - 2 a.m. Mon-Sat
8 a.m. - 2 a.m. Sun
ABW > 5% beer shipped through state warehouse
Kansas No 2 a.m. closing 9 a.m. to 11 p.m. (Mon-Sat)
noon to 8 p.m. (*Sun)
Sales limited to on-premises in restaurants on Sundays. Some counties in the northeast allow Sunday off-premises liquor sales from noon to 8pm. 3.2% ABV cap on beer sold in supermarkets; Beer above 3.2% ABV, wine and spirits only available at liquor stores.
Kentucky No 6 a.m. to 4 a.m. 6 a.m. to 2 a.m. Local ordinance may vote to permit Sunday sales at restaurants. On-premise sales from 2 - 4 a.m. only in Louisville. As of 2005 Sunday sales allowed per state law, but local laws might be more restrictive.
Louisiana No
Maine No No* Yes ABV > 15.5% wine sold in state stores. Alcohol may not be purchased after 1am any day of the week, may not be purchased prior to 6am Monday through Saturday, and not prior to 9am on Sunday.
Maryland No* Montgomery County is an alcohol beverage control county. With very few grandfathered in exceptions, alcohol may not be purchased at grocery stores or gas stations statewide.
Massachusetts No 8 a.m. – 2 a.m.* 8 a.m. – 11 p.m.* "Malt beverages" defined as ABW < 12%
Sunday on- and off-premise sales start at noon
Michigan No Yes 7 a.m.* – 2 a.m. No sale of alcoholic beverages after 2:00 a.m. and before noon on Sundays. No alcohol sales on Christmas Day.
Minnesota No 8 a.m.-2 a.m. 7 Days 8 a.m.-10 p.m. Monday-Saturday No alcohol sales on Sunday. Beer and wine coolers 3.2 ABW or less may be sold in grocery stores and gas stations. Growler sales allowed until 10 p.m. Monday-Saturday.
Mississippi No No* Yes ABV > 14% wine and sparkling wine sold in state stores


No sales on Christmas Day.

Missouri No (Mon-Sat) 6:00am-1:30am (Sunday) 9:00am-12:00am
Montana No No* Yes Closing 2am ABV > 16% wine sold in state stores
Nebraska No 6 a.m. – 1 a.m.* No on- or off-premises sales of liquor before noon on Sundays
Nevada No 24 hours 24 hours There are few restrictions on the sale and consumption of alcohol in Nevada except for age.
New Hampshire No Yes 6 a.m. – 1 a.m. 6 a.m. – 11:45 p.m. Liquor sold only in State Liquor Stores
New Jersey No All alcohol may be sold only in liquor stores or separately secured sections of supermarkets, with sales rung up within that separately secured portion. Thus, convenience stores in New Jersey are dry.

Some dry communities in southern portion of state.

New Mexico No No alcohol sales before Noon on Sundays
New York No 8AM – 4AM, except prohibited 4AM – 8am Sunday. Some counties have more restrictive hours. Beer: Per state law, 24 hours/day except prohibited 3AM – 8AM Sunday.
Wine & spirits: 9AM – midnight Mon – Sat, Noon – 9PM Sunday.
Many counties have more restrictive hours, such as bans on beer sales overnight (hours vary).
No sale of wine or spirits before noon on Sundays (on or off premises). Off-premises sale of wine and spirits is only at liquor stores, and beer is not sold at liquor stores. All wine or spirit sales are final; no returns or exchanges of purchases are permitted.

Some counties may retain the Sunday morning beer prohibition which the state discontinued as of July 30, 2006. Twelve dry towns, mostly in western region of state. All liquor stores must be owned by a single owner, who owns that store and lives within a certain distance of it — in effect banning chain liquor stores from the state.

North Carolina No Yes 15% ABV cap on beer, No sale of alcoholic beverages from 2 a.m. until noon on Sundays, State stores closed on Sundays.
North Dakota No
Ohio No Yes 12% ABV cap on beer. The Division of Liquor Control does not operate retail outlets; it appoints private businesses to act as it's agents and sell it's products in exchange for a commission.

Beer cannot be sold to a customer at a supermarket by a minor and must be carried out of the store within an opaque bag.

Oklahoma No 6 a.m. to 2 a.m. 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. 3.2% ABW or less in stores
6.0% only sold at room temperature in liquor stores, Liquor Stores closed on Sunday's
Oregon No Yes 7 a.m. to 2:30 a.m. Liquor sold only in State Liquor Stores
Pennsylvania No Yes State Liquor stores open from 11a.m. to 9p.m. mon-sat. and from noon until 5 p.m. Sunday Wine and spirits can only be sold at State-operated stores, beer can be purchased at beverage outlets or restaurants with Liquor Control Board-issued licenses. Sunday sales were prohibited in LCB stores until 2003 (selected locations) and beverage outlets (owner's option) until 2005.
Rhode Island No
South Carolina No 5% ABW (6.25% ABV) cap on beer
Wine > 16% ABV sold in liquor stores
No liquor sales after 7 p.m. and none on Sundays.
No alcohol sales after midnight Saturday until 7 a.m. Monday, except in Aiken, Greenville, Spartanburg, Myrtle Beach, Charleston and Hilton Head. No sales on election days at liquor stores.
South Dakota No 14% ABV cap on beer
Tennessee No 8 am to 11 pm mon-sat
Texas No 7 a.m. to 2 a.m. 7 a.m. to midnight (or 1 a.m. Saturday night/Sunday morning) - Beer/Non-hard liquor
10 a.m. to 9 p.m. - Hard Liquor
No alcohol cap but ABV > 15.5% requires additional license, so many places are beer/wine only.
Wet/dry issues determined by city/county election.
Liquor stores statewide closed all day Sunday.
An alcoholic beverage served (on-premise) to a customer between 10 a.m. and noon on Sunday must be provided during the service of food to the customer.

Texas permits the consumption of alcohol by minors, provided they are being supervised by parents/guardians.

Utah No* Yes ABV > 3.2% beer sold in state stores. No state store sales on Sundays. Most stores cease operations by 8 p.m. but hours vary.
Vermont No No* Yes 8 a.m. – 2 a.m. 6 a.m. – midnight ABV > 16% wine sold in state stores
Virginia No No* Yes 6 a.m. – 2 a.m. 6 a.m. – 11:59 p.m. ABV >14% wine sold in state stores. State stores closed on Sundays, except in Northern Virginia, Norfolk, and Virginia Beach.
Washington No Yes 6 a.m. – 2 a.m.* Beer and wine available in grocery stores and convenience stores every day (including holidays) from 6 a.m. to 2 a.m. Spirits for off-premise consumption are sold only in state-run or state-contracted liquor stores. Store hours vary by location, but no store is open before 9 a.m. and all stores must be closed by 10 p.m. Some stores are open Sundays from 12 p.m. to 5 p.m. Stores are not required by law to close on holidays, but seemingly all stores are closed on any federal holiday (whether or not to close on a holiday is at the discretion of the store manager)
West Virginia No Yes 6% ABV Cap on Beer. No Sunday liquor sales. No sale of 95% ABV spirits allowed in Morgantown or Huntington (and soon statewide). State does not operate retail stores; retains monopoly over wholesaling of distilled spirits only.
Wisconsin No 8 a.m. – 9 p.m. Wisconsin permits the consumption of alcohol by minors, provided they are being supervised by parents/guardians.
Wyoming No Yes
District of Columbia No 8 a.m. – 2:00 a.m. Mon.-Thu., 8:00 a.m. – 3:00 a.m. Fri-Sat., 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 a.m. Sun. 9 a.m. – 10 p.m. No singles sold
Certain wards may be made dry by the decision of the local ANC, but as of 2005 none are
Last call may be as late as 2:30 a.m.
Liquor stores must close on Sundays. Grocery stores, which are allowed to sell beer and wine only, can sell alcohol on Sundays.
Puerto Rico No Minimum drinking age is 18.
Dry law during elections and hurricane emergencies
Drinking on the street is illegal in San Juan but not in all cities. Determined by municipal ordinance.
In San Juan, the only time of the year one can drink on the street legally is the San Sebastian Street festival in January.

See also

  • Alcoholic beverage control state

References

  • Alcohol Policy Information System
  • Federation of Tax Administrators - State Excise Taxes
  • Texas Wet and Dry Counties
  • National Restaurant Association - State laws on alcohol sales (Word document)
  • State and Local Alcohol Laws
Search Term: "Alcohol_laws_of_the_United_States_by_state"